Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I am looking for opinion, advice or real life experience in relation to the following circumstances for my pending 2020 US Tax filing.

I am a UK citizen by birth and subsequent US citizen through the immigration process.

Having returned to the UK a few years ago, I am now a permanent resident back in the UK.

I am receiving a UK authority Gov service pension that I earned before I became a USC.

My question is :- Am I meant to report and pay US tax on this UK service pension or is it exempt?

Article 19 of the US/UK Treaty (Government Service).

Section 2.
Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraphs 1 and 2 of Article 17 (Pensions, Social Security, Annuities, Alimony, and Child Support) of this Convention:

a) any pension paid by, or out of funds created by, a Contracting State or a political subdivision or a local authority thereof to an individual in respect of services rendered to that State or subdivision or authority shall, subject to the provisions of subparagraph b) of this paragraph, be taxable only in that State;

b) such pension, however, shall be taxable only in the other Contracting State if the individual is a resident of, and a national of, that State.

·
Administrator
48,784 Posts
It isn't actually "exempt" however you can probably safely just omit it from your US tax filing since it isn't "taxable" in the US. That's not exactly how they intend you to do things - but they really don't bother with things like this that don't affect your US taxes due.

·
Registered
326 Posts
My question is :- Am I meant to report and pay US tax on this UK service pension or is it exempt?