Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I am an Australian on a holiday visa in Vancouver, Canada.

I am a website designer / developer and work freelance using my ABN (australian business number).

In Canada, I would like to work for my existing Australian clients (that's no problem so far), but I also want to work for new Canadian clients too.

Are there any Australians without Canadian residence permits or working visas that are working freelance or on contract for Canadian clients here ?

I thought that if I claim the income and tax back to my Australian ABN I might be able to work here under the Double Tax Agreement with Australia/Canada.

Does any one know FOR SURE if I can work here as a freelancer without a work permit ?

Thank you

James

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
You are not permitted to work in Canada without the appropriate visa. If you are on a WHV however, you may work and live wherever you wish. You must declare your worldwide income to the CRA.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You are not permitted to work in Canada without the appropriate visa. If you are on a WHV however, you may work and live wherever you wish. You must declare your worldwide income to the CRA.
Hello Auld,

Thank you for your reply. I understand that the common understanding is that without a work visa or sponsorship, an Australian can not work in Canada, however, I have been told by the Australian Tax Office that it may be possible to work as a freelancer, under my Australian Business Number, as long as I declare all income over here as foreign income and I declare that income to be taxed in Australia too.