Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i was looking through the US federal jobs list on USAJOBS and I noticed there are some "normal" job postings abroad, like library assistant and secretary positions, stuff that I have some experience in. A lot of them say you have to live in the commuting area or be a federal employee or something. If I just went to the commuting area of a job as a tourist, could that count enough as "living in the commuting area" and I could then apply for the job? Or could I work as a federal employee as like a secretary or library person in the US for a while and then apply for a job abroad? Does anyone have experience with this?

Hah, this is such a longshot. OH I just chose Australia as my "expat to" place cuz I love Australia and have looked into immigrating there. I know their really aren't any US govt jobs in Australia. I'm really interested in living in Europe too, or something.

G

·
You would normally have to live there ie have a visa that allows you to live & work there or be a citizen who doesn't need one.

·
Administrator
51,624 Posts
Except at the level of diplomatic jobs, where the government pays for your relocation and you are eligible for a diplomatic visa, the government generally looks for local citizens and residents for ordinary staffing positions. You would have to be legally resident in the area to be considered for a government job.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hi,

I am looking for informarion regarding us government jobs in Australia and found this thread.
I wonder if any of you had the opportunity of doing this. Is there a site or way to fo this? Understsnd jobs of this type may not be abundant but any feedback would help. This is for my partner who will become resident in the followimg months and would like to tryna US gov job in Oz

Thanks

G

·