Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am trying to get a better understanding of which process is better/more promising and hoped to get some insight from anyone who's been through it and/or knows from friends/family that have been through it.

Our situation in an attempted nutshell:
I'm a US citizen, and my fiance is a UK citizen. We met a couple years ago while I was a grad student in the UK. We have since discussed getting married in the US, because my home state is no-nonsense when it comes to allowing people to get married and we have a little one on the way. I know in the UK there is the 30 day reading of the bans requirement which can be even longer when one person is from outside the EEA, and we don't want to waste the time for fossilized statues. However, just being able to be together when the baby comes is our number one priority when it comes down to it. That being said, we are trying to determine if it makes more sense to get married in the US or in the UK, which obviously means different things for the visa application and the proof required upon submission. Because we aren't already married, we don't really have proof of living together to show. We've spent a lot of time together on back and forth trips. He was even in the US for 90 days this year, but no joint bills, etc. to show for it.