Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm an American student who will be moving to Bordeaux in September to study at Université Bordeaux Montaigne. I'm in the process of finding housing and need some advice on renting from an individual. Ideally, I'd like to reserve my housing before I arrive in Bordeaux, since I don't plan to arrive until the week before my classes begin. However, I'm a bit nervous about reserving something without seeing it in person. I've found a room for rent on Lokaviz for €345 a month. I've been emailing back and forth with the landlord and I haven't had any reason to doubt the legitimacy of the offer. I've looked through her profiles on several social media websites and didn't find anything to suggest otherwise. In order to reserve the room, she is requesting that I either email or mail her photocopies of the following documents by May 31st:

- "la photocopie de votre pièce d’identité recto-verso et celle de votre garant"

- "la photocopie de votre carte d'étudiant"

- "les trois derniers bulletins de salaire de votre garant"

- "le dernier avis d'imposition de votre garant"

- "votre dernière quittance d'eau ou d'électricité datée de moins de 3 mois"

- "Merci de compléter la fiche candidat locataire figurant en pièces jointes"

If she accepts my "dossier," she requests that I send the following by August 1st and August 15th, respectively:

- "Un chèque de Réservation de 345.00€(que j'encaisserai à votre entrée dans les lieux) à envoyer le 01.08.2015. ou par virement bancaire si nous n'avez pas de compte en France"

- "Une attestation d'assurance multi risques habitation mentionnant l'adresse du logement à savoir : (address here) à souscrire dès le 15.08.2015."