Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Expats,

I'm a complete newbie to the forum (this being my first post) but hope I can contribute.

I know Dubai pretty well as have stayed for 4 months a year for the past 4 years.

I'm now looking to relocate full time and seeking a 1 B/R apartment.

My budget is between 40,000 - 70,000 although my ideal spend would be 55,000

My ideal areas are the Old Town (listed properties seem to be from 70k +,) Marina or Downtown/Business Bay.

I've seen a lot of threads regarding prices and the current market, although, to me - prices still seem to be listed relatively highly. What discounts should be expected in these areas for a property within this budget?

Would it be feasible to say that a property at 70k in old town listed with 3 cheques could be acquired for 55k with the same number of cheques or is that pushing it a bit?

Anyone with recent experience of this - your words are appreciated. I have noted around a 6% decrease in the last Q of 2010 so things are looking promising with the right LL.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,367 Posts
Not likely no, you would have to reduce it to one cheque and even then it's a long shot. You might get 60k, probably 65k with one cheque but that area is quite expensive due to its vicinity.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the quick response - just trying to work out a starting point for non laughable negotiations.

So I guess looking at a 20% starting point and aiming for 10% is achievable, and the cheques are a strong negotiating point?

Thanks

·
Registered
3,294 Posts
work out a starting point for non laughable negotiations.