Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
I've been a languages teacher in the UK for 8 years and when we move in the summer to Ardeche, I'd like to carry on teaching in some fashion although probably not full-time. I'm obviously fully qualified in the UK and also head of languages at the moment in my school. However I don't have the CAPES and don't really feel like putting myself through the whole palava of doing the concours to get it!

Has anyone out there been in this position and have any ideas about how to get a job in this field in France. My mother-in-law (French) suggested I try the 'acadomia' website for teaching students at home. Does anyone have experience with this company? Would it be easier for me to be self-employed?

I've also written to a local Catholic 'bilingual' school to ask them if they have any opportunities for me but as it is 'sous contrat' I don't think that I would be able to be directly employed by them as a teacher so not holding out much hope there.

I'm planning on writing to the local mayor to see if the primary schools in the village need anyone to teach English but after that, I'm all out of ideas so if there's something I haven't thought of, please let me know :confused2:

Thanks very much

·
Banned
6,806 Posts
Write to the Rectorat and the Inspection for your Departement, enclosing your cv and copies of your qualifications, and detailing how available you are (full-time/part-time/replacement), and how far you're prepared to travel within the Departement (half an hour/80km - whatever - remembering that winter conditions aren't anywhere near the same as summer). If you're on the edge of 2 or more Departments, write to all of them - each Academie operates independently at the level of teaching you're apparently talking about.