Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm an IT professional, got my PR a month back and now that I am finally committed to the idea of migrating and have blocked my tickets, I'm excited about this whole thing and also bit scared at the same time, so I will have lots of questions to ask here :D

So about accommodation -
I'm travelling to Sydney in August and I have been going through sites like flatmates.com.au, gumtree etc. I wanted to know

1. How soon should I start contacting the owners, is 15 days prior my travel date ok? too late? too soon?
2. Anyone faced any problems once you landed in Sydney?
3. Rooms/facilities will really be as advertised?
4. Is it always better to find near CBD?
5. Any other similar useful sites?

Basically any first hand experiences / suggestions would help.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
3,447 Posts
This comes up a lot in the forum - you should consider doing a search. But to answer your questions -

1. Don't bother contacting people regarding housing until you arrive. Consider staying in a short-term rental via Airbnb or a similar service for a week or two, which will give you time to find more permanent accommodation.

2. This question is really vague so I don't expect you'll get much in terms of useful answers.

3. Obviously you need to inspect the property before you make a decision. In some cases it will be as advertised and other cases it won't. This is why you need to rely on more than just a couple photos and a description to make a decision about where to live.

4. If you won't have a car and will be relying on public transport, then obviously it makes sense to be as close to the CBD and/or as close to public transport as you can possibly afford.

5. https://www.realestate.com.au/share , http://www.domain.com.au/home?mode=share

·
Registered
942 Posts