Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
I have no contacts, but i have a degree and work in international logistics. i have been trying to start networking here at home before i go. i was thinking about going to Dubai but there seems to be more opportunity in Singapore. what would be a bullet list of things to do when i arrive? where are the best places to search for openings? what about networking events?

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
In Singapore, as in many places, connections are the best source of job leads. But building them takes time. If you are prepared to stay for a few months, you may attend seminars, trade fairs and professional events to meet as many relevant people as possible.
Linkedin is a good tool, too, if you know what (and whom) you are looking for.
The second best method is monitoring job ads (e.g. on jobstreet or jobsdb) and apply whenever something suitable comes up.
Sending unsolicited applications is a waste of time in Singapore (they go right into the dustbin on arrival in HR) and headhunters are of limited use (but at least they're free for you).

·
Banned
6,189 Posts
In Singapore, as in many places, connections are the best source of job leads. But building them takes time. If you are prepared to stay for a few months, you may attend seminars, trade fairs and professional events to meet as many relevant people as possible.
Though a word of caution: U.S. citizens are routinely granted 90 day stay permission when they enter Singapore. Do not overstay. I wish I could quadruple underscore that. (Ever heard of caning?) There is no extension available if you get a 90 day stamp. (If you get a shorter stay permission upon entry, you can apply for an extension up to a total of 90 days.)