Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I apologise if I should have found the answer to my question by searching the forum but I have looked without success.

I have been a permanent resident of Australia since 1986, and since January this year I have received the UK Aged Pension plus a pension from a former UK employer.

I have told the UK tax people that I am a non-resident but they persist in sending me one tax code after another.

I am frustrated in my dealings with the UK HM Revenue and Customs but wonder if anyone can tell me categoricaly whether, as a non UK resident, 'Am I liable to pay ANY tax in UK?'

My understanding is that I should not have any tax deducted, and if someone can confirm this, then I will continue to write and phone the HMRC until I get a tax refund for the 2011 - 2012 year and my pensions without deductions.

Thanks,

Roger

·
Registered
346 Posts
As far as I understood if you chose not to transfer your pension to Australia you still need to pay UK tax on it. The good news, it should be deductible in Australia, i.e. you don't pay Aussie tax on top.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
As far as I understood if you chose not to transfer your pension to Australia you still need to pay UK tax on it. The good news, it should be deductible in Australia, i.e. you don't pay Aussie tax on top.
Sorry Naoto, Thanks for your quick reply but I should have said I have my pensions paid to an Australian Bank account so I guess you are saying I need not be liable?

Thanks again,

Roger

·
Registered
346 Posts