Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. my plans are to move to France next September initially for 6 months and if all goes well I shall stay. I have a very good friend who is allowing me to stay at his cottage in Paimpol . I have been reading all the threads in the forum and gathering as much information as I can.
I am a carpenter and intend to make a living in France as a carpenter . Could any one please tell me how difficult is it to find work or if indeed there is any in the Brittany area. Also please could any one point me in the direction of a good French learning website. Thank you.

G

·
It is 100% certain that you will not find legal work in France within your 6 months try-out period. You will NOT find any carpentry shop willing to take you on.

However, the odds will improve by 1% per year, so don't give up too soon.

You are only likely to find 'odd-jobs' amongst the ex-pat community, they'll be 'on the black' and very sporadic.

Full marks for putting a 6-month trial period in place. Bring enough money to live on with an assumption of zero income.

Spend every waking moment between now and then learning french.

·
Administrator
50,415 Posts
While Minesthechevy may have a reputation for being something of a pessimist, I have to say I very much agree with his assessment. Finding work of any type in France without a decent conversational level of French is pretty futile.

That said, however, if you are looking to relocate here for the long term, you'd do better to invest in some serious language training than to try and find web-based language training. On the do-it-yourself market, the programs put out by Assimil and Rosetta Stone are probably among the best, and fairly reasonably priced.