Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a permanent resident I haven't left the country for a few years, but I'm told that passports are no longer stamped or stickered when a visa is extended.
My pal recently returned to Australia; the immigration dept at NAIA said that there was no record of his last visa extension on the computer, and he had to fork out P2,340 or exit would be denied.
If he's right about passports no longer being stamped/stickered, the opportunity for fraud is immense; at the BI field office the payment can disappear into a pocket; and at the airport an officer can say 'There's no computer record. You are an overstayer. Give me money!'
Is it true that passports are no longer stamped/stickered, and if so, has anyone else been caught out this way?

·
Registered
2,235 Posts
Yes Darby from my experience in the immi office that I frequent no stamps or stickers and I always bring all my receipts for the last 2 and a half years, my passport is stamped with my last entry in March 2020 and the rest is receipts.
I dutifully fill out the cr#ppy A5 visa extension form, hand that, my previous receipt, my passport and ACR card and out in 5 to 10 minutes.
When I fly out next I will bring my doc's with me, hopefully their computer works.

Not sure but could your pal may have misinterpreted that fine? Did he secure an ECC prior, if that was required?
Cert fee and fine?

OMO.

Cheers, Steve.

·
Super Moderator
4,660 Posts
As a permanent resident I haven't left the country for a few years, but I'm told that passports are no longer stamped or stickered when a visa is extended.
My pal recently returned to Australia; the immigration dept at NAIA said that there was no record of his last visa extension on the computer, and he had to fork out P2,340 or exit would be denied.