Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at this and don't know what I'm really doing so please forgive me. I don't know how to start a new thread, since my situation is a bit different and I don't know if anyone can help me.

I met my current boyfriend 2 years ago in December in a Yahoo chat room. After a few weeks of just randomly chatting and emailing, we started to talk with voice and cam chat every night. Since then we've been talking almost every single night that we can.

He lives in Scotland UK and I in the USA. I've been there to the UK twice now. First for 2 weeks in April of 2009 and then just a few days ago for 3 weeks for Christmas and New Year's of 2009/10. There I have met a few of his friends, one of his sisters, and one of his nieces. I have talked to another one of his sisters over the phone and to one of his cousins that lives in England.

We want to get married, we know we want to spend our lives together. The thing that's different and that I think would cause problems is our age differences. I'm 24 years old, he's 54. The first time I went to Scotland, the passport control guy at the Glasgow airport had to stop me to do a few background checks on my boyfriend. I didn't get to see my boyfriend until an hour and a half after my plane had landed. I'm planning on going again the summer of 2010 and we are working on saving money so he can come over here in the spring of 2010.

Can anyone give me advice on this, or on how to start a new thread that would be greatly appreciated. Thank you :)

·
Banned
151 Posts
Hello,

I don't see the problem? you won't get any issues in the UK about age differences.. you may get the odd idiot say a "joke"... but nothing preventing you being together.

·
Registered
84 Posts
I find border agents more nosy in Scotland.