Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

My wife, 3 month old son, and I are strongly considering relocating to the east coast of Spain. My wife and I are both EU citizens and both speak Spanish fluently. My wife is Colombian and has a Hungarian and US passport, and I have a US and Greek passport. We are thinking about buying a house but would like to rent for a year first to figure out exactly where to buy. We were thinking about Alicante or somewhere north or south of the area. We are flexible.

I am an English professor in the states and hope to be able to teach English wherever we settle in order to have income for our living expenses. Since we are planning on buying a house, we would not have a mortgage, so I'm wondering about the cost of living (excluding mortgage). Any advice would be greatly appreciated regarding raising a child in Spain, cost of living, healthcare, etc...

Thanks

·
Registered
16 Posts
Hello, just a few words about the move: it would probably be helpful for you to get a qualification in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) if you don't already have one as most English language schools here require it and many offer the course itself -you wouldn't have a problem enrolling with your existing qualifications and the course itself, although intense, isn't too long.
As regards Residency you should contact your local Spanish consulate for the foreigners registration number NIE, you can apply in Spain but it's less hassle to have one beforehand. It opens many doors as does a Spanish phone number as for home delivery and indeed furniture moving most Spanish companies will not accept a foreign number and insist on a local one. It's a simple matter to get a sim card sent to you before you move, you can buy one online, alternatively give your estate agent's number and get one in any of the many phone shops in Spain as soon as you arrive.