Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My family have just been granted our permanent residency visas.
We don't plan to take up permanent residency until Jan 2013 but will be going to Oz Apr 2011 for initial entry and a recce. However there are a few jobs advertised with Jan 2011 start dates so I am going to apply to test the water, see how my CV sits with Australian schools and if I am successful we may just go for it rather than wait.
We plan to take our dog (when we go for good). How should we plan for rental accommodation with this in mind?
We are looking at Sunshine Coast probably.
I am a secondary teacher (head of dept). What is the likelihood that I would be able to get a similar promoted post? Would I have to work my way up from the bottom again, don't mind but would be nice to know?
Also, does anyone know about teacher's salaries? Do you start off at the bottom and work your way up the payscale depending on time served in Oz, or do you go in at an appropriate pay scale to your level of experience that you currently have?
Another thing, does anyone have any experience or advice on building your own house, especially in Queensland?

·
Banned
934 Posts
You'll struggle to get any teaching job in any desireable decent area in Australia so essentially yes you'll start at the bottom.

I don't understand the facisnation of building my own home in some **** dangerous suburb but yeah what ever floats your boat I guess.

·
Registered
6,235 Posts
Hi Carol-Anne,

I've deleted your other post since it was the same as this one and you kept trying to bump it up. That's not fair on other members and if members know the answer they do tend to reply.