Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All!

I'm a mid-twenties professional moving to Sydney via my company in July. I'm trying to determine the best neighborhoods to live once I move. I'll have only six weeks to find a place once I arrive, so I'd like to narrow the search to one or two neighborhoods if that's possible.

My office is in North Sydney and I won't have a car for the first few months, so Bondi and points south are out. A few neighborhoods recommended by future co-workers are Darlinghurst and Surry Hills, and I've been considering Manly because it'd be great to live at the beach in Australia, but unusure what my commute would look like from there.

I'm trying to spend about $500/week for 2 bedrooms but could go to $650 for the perfect place.

A bit about what I'd like:
- Easy access to public transit to North Sydney, with relatively short transit times (~30 min. door to door)
- If at all possible, a private yard of some sort. I have a small dog and a yard makes all the difference (though I know this is a tall order in the city)
- Good nightlife, especially good restaurants
- Something that really showcases all that Sydney has to offer

Also, if anyone has any tips on the best way to secure an apartment once you've found the perfect one, I'd appreciate that as well!

Many Thanks!

Jenn

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hi,

I have lived in Manly for the past two years. I highly recommend this neighbourhood (especially during summer). There are some really nice restaurants, bars, parks, walks, beaches, etc. All in all, this is one of my favourite neighbourhoods in Sydney.

My wife works in North Sydney; there are both local and express busses available from Manly Wharf. If you want to get to the CBD, there is ferry service which takes 30 minutes (or 18 minutes if you take a fast ferry).