Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Newbie here, looking for some advice and would really appreciate anything you guys can let me know.

I've always wanted to move abroad, England doesn't feel like it's my permanent home (as much as I do love the North East) and have decided to plan out a move to Germany in about a years time. Areas I'm looking at currently are Berlin, Leipzig or Hamburg. Now I haven't visited Leipzig before, but I absolutely love Berlin and Hamburg! Planning a trip over to Germany in a few months time to travel around and make my mind up.

Now, at the moment I'm planning to just save up as much money as I can over the next year and then leaving, finding a WG and any job I can just as a source of income whilst I settle in. Now, with being an EU citizen already which Visa would I need to apply for to allow me to do this? And also, how do I go about doing it? I've tried looking into this online but can't seem to get a clear answer.

I'm still quite basic with German too, definitely couldn't hold a conversation so I'm looking into studying either at lessons or at home with something like a language partner so any advice of where to find a language partner or any tips would be so helpful.

If you guys have any advice/tips in regards to admin/paper work please let me know because at the moment this is something I'm struggling to get a clear answer on when looking online, especially from the perspective of moving from the UK.

Like I said, any advice at all is massively appreciated!

·
Administrator
49,823 Posts
As an EU citizen, you don't need any visa at all. In Germany, I believe it's still necessary to register with the town hall (Rathaus) when you "move in" - probably not until you find a place to live.