Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are a gay couple Looking to buy a house in Murcia, we have two kids one who is classed as ADHD, we are lucky enough to not have to work full time, my partner is a hairdresser and English teacher, and I can turn my hand to anything. We have found the perfect house which we can afford to buy outright, and have enough money to live on for a few years without working, but obviously I would love to get a job.
Would love to hear from any other young families who have moved to Spain, with any advise they have to offer or hints and tips

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
You are in a very fortunate position
Just enjoy it!
I'm sure you know about the job situation, which is dire
How old are the children?
I have no knowledge about facilities for helping kids with ADHD, but someone on here is bound to know.

·
Registered
6,012 Posts
Remember that "common law" relationships and (I believe) same sex partnerships are viewed differently in Spain with regard to residency.

That is, with a married couple if one has a job or can prove sufficient income, then the whole family is covered. If there is no marriage then they are considered individuals and both have to prove sufficient income etc.

In your situation, I'm not sure who would be financially responsible for the children.

[I don't think I've explained myself very well but, hopefully, you get the gist.]

·
Administrator
36,384 Posts
Remember that "common law" relationships and (I believe) same sex partnerships are viewed differently in Spain with regard to residency.

That is, with a married couple if one has a job or can prove sufficient income, then the whole family is covered. If there is no marriage then they are considered individuals and both have to prove sufficient income etc.

In your situation, I'm not sure who would be financially responsible for the children.