Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
Dear all,

We are planning on moving to France and would welcome any advice on the following:

Are proprties in certain areas of France cheaper than others.

The climate in France: are areas of France hotter than others.

Are prices on the properties negotiable, Notaires fees.

Are there certain area's that have a higher population of ex pats, as this would be important to us.

The French health system.

We have 3 children ages 10, 2, and 3 months any advice rearding the childrens schooling, the language barrier at schools and also child benefit in France is it similar to the UK's.

Would it be wise to bring our cars over or sell up and buy in France. Is there car tax, insurance and MOT like in the UK

Any advice on taxes payable.

Employment in France what is it that we need to know. I am a qualified chef, although this not something that i would necessarily have to do.

Any other info that you think we'd need to know.

Thanks in anticipation of your replies.

Dave

·
Administrator
49,769 Posts
Wow, your questions really cover a wide range of information. I'd strongly recommend that you check either a library or your local bookstore and find a book called "Living and Working in France" by David Hampshire. The same publisher also has two other titles "Best Places to Live in France" and "Buying a House in France" that will answer your housing questions. (Small disclosure here: I worked on prior editions of all three of those titles, so am pretty familiar with what's in the books.)

Employment is the big determining factor in making a move. Finding a job is going to be difficult unless you speak decent French at a conversational level. Having some sort of job and paying into the system is the key to qualifying for benefits - health care, child benefit, and all the rest.