Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I am a 28 year old Arab-Canadian male living in Vancouver, Canada. I am considering moving to Dubai for work. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from the University of British Columbia. I have over 10 years of sales, customer service and managerial experience in the automotive, retail and insurance industries. I am also fluent in both English and Arabic.

I consider myself to be more Canadian than Arab as I've been living in Canada since I was 10 years old. I am considering making this move because it's impossible for a local to get ahead in the Vancouver market right now. Real estate is ridiculously high and the wages are too low to be able to afford anything.

I am not sure if this is a good move or if I am able to find anything that will make the move worth while. I have a few friends and family in Dubai that offered to help me find a position that will satisfy me. Another problem is I'm not sure what I am looking for either. I am very personable and have a special knack for business development and customer relations.

What should I be aiming for? In terms of salary? In terms of a position?

Will I be looked at as a Canadian or an Arab? (my family is from Iraq)

Should I rely on my friends and family to help me find a position or should I hunt for myself?

Any advice from any of the board members would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you all in advance,

Cheers,

Moe Samarai

·
Registered
5 Posts
don't rely on anyone to search for you,because that I aint happening, salary ? it all depends on where you want to live and pay for rent,and how you live your life , are u a big spender? stingy ? have weird hobbies that you pay a lot of money for ? are u with family or alone? are you going to have any people depending on your salary as well that you'd send them money ? all that matters