Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new here and would appreciate some advice on my wife and me's living situation. She moved to the UK to join me last year and we share a flat in London (with both our names on the lease). However, I'm only there on weekends. I'm a doctor and during the weekdays I work in Leicester. Since I can't do the daily back and forth 2-hour commute between London and Leicester, I stay during weekdays in Leicester (in doctor's quarters provided by the hospital I work in), and then travel back home to London on weekends. The doctor quarters in Leicester is one I share with other itinerant doctors and I do receive some mail at this place, further, my payslips, employment letter, etc. all have this address on them (as opposed to the address of my London flat I share with my spouse).

This presents a bit of a dilemma for us, because, essentially, my wife and I are cohabitating, but only partly so (2 days out of every week). Is this something that will require an explanation in the application?

We were initially thinking of not even mentioning my hospital quarters in Leicester, but my payslips, P60, employment letter, etc. (which we plan to use to demonstrate we meet the minimum income threshold) all have the address of these quarters on them, so we don't have much of a choice. Further, if we don't mention it, I'm sure the official reviewing the application will wonder why our flat is in london but my workplace is all the way in Leicester!! Any similar experiences with the partial cohabitation problem? How do we deal with this?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2