Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, ACS claims "Only employment completed after the date you have met the ACS suitability criteria will be counted as Skilled Employment and eligible for migration points.
Work experience used to meet the suitability criteria is NOT counted as Skilled Employment and NOT eligible for migration points."

So if I graduated in Feb 2013 and started working from then till Feb 2016, am I not eligible for 5 points of work experience?

·
Registered
3,427 Posts

If your Degree is assessed as having an ICT major which is closely related to your nominated occupation, you will require 2 years relevant work experience to satisfy the suitability criteria.

This 2 years of work experience used to satisfy the suitability criteria is NOT eligible for the skilled migration points test.

For other such scenarios refer to the documents interlinked in my following post.

ACS Skills Assessment Guidelines AND Summary of Criteria

Effectively in Feb 2016 you would have only 1 year of relevant skilled experience. To claim 5 points you would require 3 years of Skilled employment. So you will get NO points for skilled employment.

Hi, ACS claims "Only employment completed after the date you have met the ACS suitability criteria will be counted as Skilled Employment and eligible for migration points.
Work experience used to meet the suitability criteria is NOT counted as Skilled Employment and NOT eligible for migration points."

So if I graduated in Feb 2013 and started working from then till Feb 2016, am I not eligible for 5 points of work experience?

·
Registered
2,949 Posts
Since ACS criteria requires you to work 2 years BEFORE you are considered qualified, you need to deduct 2 years from your experience, which will only leave you with one year of relevant experience.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hi,