Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I have one more semester left before graduating my BSc. I'm planning to have my degree assessed by the ACS after that (under the recent graduate category). If I get a positive assessment, then I will have 65 points. So now everything will depend on whether ACS will accept my degree.

On the ACS website, the information about closely related degrees is very vague. So I need some advice about whether my degree is relevant enough:

I'm doing a BSc with Computer Science major and Maths minor at the ANU. By the end of the degree I will have done the following ICT courses:

100-Level:
Introduction to Programming and Algorithms
Introduction to Software Systems

200-Level:
Introduction to Computer Systems
Formal Methods in Software Engineering
Concurrent and Distributed Systems

300-Level:
Algorithms
Operating Systems Implementation
Advanced Databases and Data Mining
Theory of Computation

I read that my degree needs to have at least one year of ICT content (which is 8 courses at my uni). I will have done 9 so I hope that's enough. But I'm not too sure which ANZSCO I should nominate? At the moment I'm thinking that "Developer Programmer" is the best fit.

Also there is clause on ACS that says the ICT content must progress through all years of the program. Does this mean that I need to do at least one ICT course in every single semester? I didn't actually do any ICT course in my first semester of uni - would this matter?

So in short: given my BSc and using Developer Programmer as my nominated occupation, do you think that I will have a good chance of getting a positive result? If anyone here who's had experience with the process can help me and see if I'm on the right track, that would be great.

·
Registered
3,763 Posts
Hi fatworm,