Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends,
I am planning to apply for my ACS assessment assuming my degree will be considered as an IT major degree.
If ACS feels otherwise and feels that my application should have been an RPL application, then will they contact me and ask me for RPL reports?....................., or will they reject my application, expecting me to apply afresh with RPL?
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
8,429 Posts
hi anoop

if you have done masters in computer science or otherwise covering computers as a subject you fall in cat A. Its best to read the requirements on the ACS site, alternatively, speak to them directly. it helps. I dont think they would reject the application. But again, I am not a pro at this.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Anj,
I've done my Bachelors in Electronics & Communication, which had some regular computer science subjects. I've read thru ACS guidelines where they expect atleast 2 full semesters. Some of my subjects are debatable - for example, we had Microprocessors - one may or may not call it a computer subject. For me, microprocessors must still be considered an ICT subject because, computers were born from these - 8085, 8086, 386, 486, 586, pentium etc.

So, I am not sure how ACS will see this.

My plan is to apply in cat A. Meanwhile, I'll also prepare RPL reports. If they come back to me asking for RPL, I'll send them. What say?

Cheers.

hi anoop

if you have done masters in computer science or otherwise covering computers as a subject you fall in cat A. Its best to read the requirements on the ACS site, alternatively, speak to them directly. it helps. I dont think they would reject the application. But again, I am not a pro at this.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I mean Bachelor of Engineering (BE) in Electronics and Communication.

Hi Anj,