Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is my story so far.

I arrived here exactly 6 weeks ago. Initial settling processes such as finding an accommodation, opening bank account, obtaining Medicare card and changing licence went well without any major issue. However finding a job in proving to be a difficult task.

I am an Accountant and worked 12 years in the UK. So everyone said it would be slightly easier for me to find a job here. I applied for over 100 jobs, yet only had 4 meetings with Agents and 2 telephone interviews with Employers ( both from direct applications). Apparently Accounting market is very competitive here as there are too many good to outstanding candidates are there looking for job and employers are very picky when selecting a candidate. They expect a candidate tick all the boxes. My friends say they got the first job after 3-5 months. So I am waiting (and applying for jobs) for my turn.

Please would you share your experience and any tips?

·
Registered
131 Posts
Here is my story so far.

I arrived here exactly 6 weeks ago. Initial settling processes such as finding an accommodation, opening bank account, obtaining Medicare card and changing licence went well without any major issue. However finding a job in proving to be a difficult task.

I am an Accountant and worked 12 years in the UK. So everyone said it would be slightly easier for me to find a job here. I applied for over 100 jobs, yet only had 4 meetings with Agents and 2 telephone interviews with Employers ( both from direct applications). Apparently Accounting market is very competitive here as there are too many good to outstanding candidates are there looking for job and employers are very picky when selecting a candidate. They expect a candidate tick all the boxes. My friends say they got the first job after 3-5 months. So I am waiting (and applying for jobs) for my turn.