Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

I'm an ACCA qualified accountant and I've been living in Spain for two years now, but am currently employed in Gibraltar. My partner works in Spain. We will eventually be looking to move within Spain and I am wondering whether/ how I can work in the accounting sector in Spain. This could be for a Spanish company or maybe starting my own bookkeeping/ business consulting service. Does anybody have any experience with this, ie working in Spain with a UK/ International Accounting qualification? Can it be done?

Just to be clear, I don't have a practicing cert (neither in Spain nor in the UK) therefore I cannot start an accountancy practice. However bookkeeping and similar services do not require a professional qualification in most countries.

I'd be grateful for any useful information you could share on this. Thanks!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Acca in spain

Hi K,
I hope this finds you well.
I am making an extensive research about, because I'm persuading the opposite: so the UK recognition of my qualifications and my experience to be chattered there.
So please, I'd appreciate very much you giving me feedback of the process when you go for it.
The spanish information bodies in charge are a complete disaster, so the process is becoming a nightmare. Fortunately I've being very lucky with the english body in charge ARE EXCELLENT.
/SNIP/

ANSWER

Accountant is not a regulated profession in Spain, you don't need neither a professional qualification nor a chartered membership to practice.

But requiring expert knowledge, what is required is an Academic Qualification in accounting.
To work as an independent for small companies...a "Diploma" (3 years university degree or Bachelor) is enough. a

To work for big companies or for a Big 4 a Masters Degree is usually required, and MBA are preferred.

So what you need is: