Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi is a bedsit/studio room eligible for spouse visa?
I was told i only need a room. The address i intend to apply is a building with multiple rooms which are let agreed. They include all bills and council tax. Would that be fine??? How would i prove i live there if i don't pay any bills thank you.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Hey, Im not an expert but have done a bit of reading around -

If its a rented property then a copy of the tennancy agreement and a letter from the land lord stating their permission for you and your partner to live there would be evidence.

If its a property with multiple people living in different rooms it would probably be wise to get a property report done by your local council or a chartered surveyor. This is to clearly show the property would not be overcrowded.

Some councils do this for free. others charge a small fee GBP50 ish. This is sometimes referred to as an entry clearance property inspection report but has a few other names. the report involves a surveyor coming to the property, measuring the rooms inc communal rooms, then generating a detailed report in accordance with uk housing standards and uk immigration standards which will state whether this property is acceptable & wont be overcrowded.

If the property is owned by a friend and you do not have a set tennancy agreement then attaching a mortgate statement and.or land registry document showing your friend as the owner, along with a letter signed by them giving permission for you to live their could be the alternative.

I found a .gov document - it seems to be related to UK armed forces but might be useful for you and I havent found another .gov document relating to accomodation yet. The doc is called Maintenance and Accomodation / MAA) It states -