Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

Well, I am in the same "rut" many English teachers find themselves in. I have been teaching English for 3 years in Madrid. I hate it. I hate the instability. I hate the weird hours. I hate "the student is always right." I make nearly 3000 euros a month, but this is a job I cannot pride myself in. My family in my home country doesn't even know what I am doing here, because they think being an ESL teacher has about as much future as working for McDonald's.

So here it is- do we have hope doing non-English teaching jobs? When I mean "nothing to do with English teaching," I mean nothing to do with the entire arena. I have no interest in supervising teachers in an academy, administration with a school, logistics, nothing.

I earn good money here, provided it's a month with not too many festivos. To earn the money I do earn, I work like an animal, starting nearly everyday at 8 am and finishing my work day at 9 pm. Imagine, waking up at 6 am to walk a dog, and by the time I drive home it's 9.30 pm.

I had a very brief education with Christie's *the famous art auction house in London, and don't know if that could lead to some sort of work in the field of art here in Madrid. They have no connections with jobs in Spain so I have to look for work myself.

I'm not dumb, of course there are set-backs. First, I hear they don't want to hire guiri's because it's a crisis and why give jobs to people who could easily get employment in their rich countries. Secondly, it's a crisis. Last, my Spanish is high intermediate and nowhere near advanced.

What do I do? Don't want to go back to Canada ( I do have a husband and life here). But I hate my life as an English Teacher and I can no longer live a lie with my family thinking I do something completely different in Spain.