Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone...

I have reached a point in my life where I am ready to start over. I've been spending an extremely long amount of time thinking about moving to Bangkok or Phuket and would like to ask a few questions if I may.

I guess maybe a little bit of a background would be good? I'm 36, almost 37. I've lived in a few different places around the world including 3 different countries in Europe and many different places in the US. I'm a truck driver by trade, but that is going to change.

While I was looking online, I came across a company called the American TESOL Institute which is offering accreditation as an English as a second language instructor. The classes are in Bangkok and cost roughly 1400.00 for the 3 week course. They claim they will help me find a position teaching english somewhere. I would first like to know if anyone has heard of this company, and if it's somewhat reputable, and mostly, if it is actually pretty easy to find a job as an ESL instructor. I have been told as I am going to be learning thai as well as trying to find a position to teach, I can get an education visa to stay.

My concerns are these:

I do not know how safe Bangkok is for Americans. I have been reading so much over the last month, pretty much anything and everything I could find from people who claim to have experience there. It has been a very mixed result to say the least. About half the people claim it is extremely safe for Americans, and the other half say I'm going to get scammed daily, possibly robbed, and worst case, killed. lol! That last group wasn't too uplifting.