Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

Can I get some advice please?

I've been in Portugal for 6 months, and married to a Portuguese citizen. I was issued a 5 year residence card which will expire in 2013. My husband works in London but my visa request to visit him was declined (at Her Majesty's request) because I worked for more than 20 hours when I was a student there in 2006 :(

My questions are, how long will it take to get a Portuguese passport and the permanent yellow residence card? and with my temporary residence card, can I travel within the Schengen (NOT EU) states or do i need a visa too?

Obrigado

·
Registered
554 Posts
You can travel within Schengen space until 2013 with your existing residency card and proof of ID (your Nigerian passport) but not to the UK as it is not a Schengen country.

You can make a separate application for a PT passport since you have PT residency and are married to a PT citizen. This will enable you to travel to the UK without a visa.

There is no fixed time for these things and the procedure can take ages

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi Mixme,

All the best for your marriage:).

MrBife, has a point there regarding the travel within the Schengen space, you can freely travel anywhere within the Schengen area, you do not need a visa whatsoever to do so.

Sorry to be the bearer of these news, but you will only be able to apply for Portuguese citizenship after the period of 3yrs being married to a PT citizen!!! And there is no way to go around that. Your present CR (cartão de residência) is of course valid 5yrs, within that time you can take care of the naturalisation process, and if PT nationality is granted to you, you will no further have a CR, as that will be substituted by a PT ID card.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Val