Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I have been offered a Lecturer position at a Queensland based university. The university has applied for sponsorship after its approval, I will have to apply for a 457 visa application.

I have a PhD in the relevant field and have experience of research and teaching.

Do I need to have my skills assessed via Vatassess?

I came across a link (I am not allowed to share it here), which mentions the countries and occupations that need their skills accessed.

I am from India which is on this list but my sponsored occupation University Lecturer (242111) is not.

So, the same question: Do I need to have my skills assessed via Vatassess?

Would really appreciate your help.
Thanks in Advance,

·
Registered
3,763 Posts
Hi Vrije_nl,

skills assessment is only a must for trades occupations, the nomination from the university should be sufficient in your case as evidence of your skills. At the discretion of the case officer, you may still receive a request for skills assessment. To quote:

If your nominated occupation is in an occupation other than a trade occupation, you may be required to provide evidence of a suitable skills assessment from the relevant assessing authority for your nominated occupation.
Read the information on the 457 visa page and DIAC Booklet 9 for further details and to know what you get yourself into with a 457 visa ;). If you only plan to stay for a couple of years a 457 is perfectly fine but it has some downsides such as:
  • You are tied closely to your employer. You need to lodge a new visa application within 90 days after quitting or getting fired from a job to stay in Australia.
  • You have to pay for your own health insurance.
  • You may have to pay higher school and university fees for your kids in certain states.
  • It's more difficult to buy property etc.