Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, We are currently living in USA. I am an American, my wife (8 years, four kids) is Australian. We would like to move to Australia to be closer to her family. I have two questions I can't seem to find answers for:

1. What is the difference between 309/100 and 820/801 classes of visas?

2. Will my wife have to provide assurance of support for me? A couple of websites I checked seemed to indicate that was the case. I am not sure how that would work since I am the primary bread winner (I am a maths teacher) and my wife stays home with our children.

Many thanks, I have been searching the website, but have not yet found the answers. Will continue searching of course!

·
Registered
3,375 Posts
1. They are both PR visas but one set is if you are offshore and the other is if you are onshore. Offshore means you apply for the visa and get the visa grant outside of AU, onshore means you apply for and get the visa grant while in Australia.

2. It is discretionary for a spouse visa (not always required), I believe Immi will check your assets (bank account statements, etc) and then decide if you are likely to become dependent on the AU welfare system (Centrelink), if you are they will ask for AoS, otherwise they won't.

Hi all, We are currently living in USA. I am an American, my wife (8 years, four kids) is Australian. We would like to move to Australia to be closer to her family. I have two questions I can't seem to find answers for:

1. What is the difference between 309/100 and 820/801 classes of visas?

2. Will my wife have to provide assurance of support for me? A couple of websites I checked seemed to indicate that was the case. I am not sure how that would work since I am the primary bread winner (I am a maths teacher) and my wife stays home with our children.