Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Forum Citizens,

This is my first post and I look forward to contributing more often to my fellow dwellers.

I have been in Sydney for a month now and finding it hard to get opportunities in my field. While I have been informed to take any opportunity in any field, I am hesitant to take such a plunge not knowing whether that will lead to an unending circle of never gaining experience in my desired field in Australia.

I am a product manager (software/tech) and have worked in some of the largest tech companies in the world in their US and Indian offices, and have been educated in the US. However, I have not been able to translate to interviews in Australia. I have hit the ground running from day 1 by meeting number of startup guys for coffee to explore opportunities but nothing materializes. Coming here I felt that having an American education and work experience will help in overcoming the barrier of 'western experience' or 'understands western culture' but I am not able to get much. Only twice among 20+ folks I have met, I have been directly informed that I lack Australian experience. If I read between the lines, other 18 might be saying the same but not directly.

How to overcome the barrier? I have been staying far away from Sydney CBD to reduce rent. I use train all the time. While I apply online (Seek, linkedin), I am not hoping much as I believe networking and face-to-face meets help to show your zeal.

If I settle for any job while I can earn wages, it will make it difficult to get back into product management space.

Reasons of choosing Australia over Canada
1) Tolerable weather - prefer sun over cold/gloomy weather
2) Close to home (India)
3) On paper, higher salary and possible to make higher salary in long-term ($170k - $200k+)