Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

This is a wonderful platform, so I am posting my very basic queries...any suggestions are welcomed...Thanks

I am an IT professional satisfying Age criteria with 25 points, overseas work experience with 15 points, Education qualification with 15 points i.e. total - 55 points.

:confused:
Now to be eligible (i.e. 60 points) there are three options
1 . Yet to appear IELTS/PTE - targeting 10 points - Mandatory
2 . My Spouse being an IT professional, can I use her 5 points (But for this does she have to appear for IELTS/PTE too), does she have to undergo ACS assessment
3 . State sponsorship - not sure if should go for
:confused:

I have heard a lot, that the whole process can be done online and does not need any third party help but what if something goes wrong - how do I get to know that. Is the immigration department approachable...like wise I have tons of queries....

How long does the whole process takes
Other than ACS, VISA and Tickets what more expenses should be considered
Job Markets, site like SEEK give some idea but which state/city would be best for an Microsoft professional (developer).

regards,
JVK

·
Registered
5,855 Posts
JVK,

Even if you gather another 5 points from partner's assessment and reach a score of 60, you still won't be eligible without passing the English competency requirement. If you gain 10 points from English, you will be at 65 which is a good score to get invited soon for 189 visa and can thus skip the partner's skills assessment part.