Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Yupieeeeeeeeee……..we got our 176 visa grant today, I can’t tell you how happy we are…What a mail……and what better way to start my day…..
Overall it took us 4 months from the date of applying ACS till getting the grant.
We are thankful to this forum who helped us in each and every step….Big big thanks to coolsnake, dreamaus for clarifying my doubts at odd hours 
Here is my story.

Dec 2011: Thought of possible migration to another country for better prospects came into our minds
Jan 2012: Finalized Australia and started researching about Visa options and read various posts on this form. As my occupation is in SOL2 only possible option left for us was VIC SS.
We decided to apply on our own instead of agent after reading so many bad experiences about agents in India. We were hesitant initially as the VIC SOL released 2 months back and by the time I get my IELTS results it’s going to be one more month so we were not very sure whether the occupation would be still in demand by the time we apply for VIC SS. However we were positive that it’s going to work out, so started collecting references.
27 Jan 2012: Applied for ACS
9 Feb 2012: Appeared for IELTS
22 Feb 2012: Checked online results, all modules above 7 
27 Feb 2012: Received IELTS results(Delayed due to some postal holidays at that time)
3 Mar 2012: Applied VIC SS
5 Mar 2012: Received VIS SS Acknowledgement
9 Mar 2012: ACS positive result received(Delayed due to requested Extra documentation after submitting application)
9 Mar 2012: Sent ACS letter to VIC
After almost 2 months of waiting
23 Apr 2012: VIC SS positive result received
26 Apr 2012: 176 Visa applied
8 May 2012: CO is assigned and requested for PCC, Medicals
8 May 2012: Medicals done at eHealth
10 May 2012:Medicals Finalized
24 May 2012: PCC submitted