Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

I'm 23 years old and currently living in Boston, MA. I've been to France twice. My girlfriend is student and a native of France and has an apartment there. I have $10,000 and what seems to be like just a dream to live with her. I'll do whatever it takes. Legally or by other means. my goal is 5 months. From what I have researched so far the only way for me to live and stay in France for up to a year is with a "long stay non professional visa" I'm not a student and i work for a living at the moment. When i leave in 5 months I'll be leaving my job and taking money with me to help support us. I'm lost on a few point's though, the Boston Consulate website says:

1.Financial guarantee such as (+2 copies):
. a letter from your bank stating that you have sufficient means of support to live in France, plus your last bank statement or your three last bank statements,

Is $10,000 sufficient? When I'm with my girlfriend we'll be splitting rent which is about 400 Euro a month, so I'm wondering if 10,000 is enough for me to survive for at least a year without a job.

2.a note, dated and signed by the applicant, stating that he/she does not intend to have in France a paid professional activity which requires a work permit (+2 copies),

Even though the visa is for non-professional use, will i be able to get a job at any point? what about under the table? i hear it's a rarity, but i won't count it out. If i am able to get a job through a company, does that forfeit my visa for a working visa since my visa is for non-professional use? Or If i got a job through a company and they hired me would i have to be in my home country to get it or could i be done while being in France? Most sites state i have to be in my home country before i am in France to qualify for a work permit visa. WOW this is overwhelming!