WiFi has been hacked - Page 2

Go Back   Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad > Asia > Philippines Expat Forum

Philippines Expat Forum The Philippines Expats Forum is dedicated those individuals that have chosen to make Philippines their new home. This forum is an ideal place for Expats now living in Philippines to meet and discuss all aspects to their new way of life.

Like Tree44Likes

WiFi has been hacked - Page 2


Reply
 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 01:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Subic Freeport Zone
Posts: 1,065
Rep Power: 231
jon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond repute
1250 likes received
431 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from usa. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default

Glad to hear the MAC filtering is working for you. One more thing that you can do is disable the "SSID Broadcast". This hides your network from the local area. You can still connect, you just have to manually add the name of your network when adding it to your devices for the first time. Also, now might be a good time to change of your network so they can't keep trying to access it. There are ways to sample traffic and find out MAC addresses on the network and also software so that you can mimic a different MAC. But hey, if they can do all of that you will probably have bigger problems than them on your network.
HondaGuy, DonAndAbby and M.C.A. like this.

__________________
Life is great!!

http://www.lifeinsubic.com/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 05:27 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Banos Laguna
Posts: 2,973
Rep Power: 308
M.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond repute
2290 likes received
7369 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from usa. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default Woa

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon1 View Post
Glad to hear the MAC filtering is working for you. One more thing that you can do is disable the "SSID Broadcast". This hides your network from the local area. You can still connect, you just have to manually add the name of your network when adding it to your devices for the first time. Also, now might be a good time to change of your network so they can't keep trying to access it. There are ways to sample traffic and find out MAC addresses on the network and also software so that you can mimic a different MAC. But hey, if they can do all of that you will probably have bigger problems than them on your network.
Thanks for the heads up.... so there's also soft ware to copy my MAC address or mimic my MAC saved items? My only issue is the in-laws I live somewhat remote but they're relentless in their pursuits of stealing what doesn't belong to them and then making a business out of it, they work harder at stealing, I mentioned to my wife that wouldn't it be easier for them to work for a living, she told me ... they won't do that.

Well this is a huge learning lesson for me and I'll start checking on my options, also have to figure out how to change my network? This is another new thing, any help.

__________________


I am not a regulated immigration adviser. I am offering an opinion and not advice. Check here for professional help with the Philippine Bureau of Immigration PBI https://www.facebook.com/officialbureauofimmigration or Philippine Retirement Authority PRA for an SRRV Visa https://pra.gov.ph/contact/ Always stay alert and don't let your guard down.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 06:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North of Trinidad, 6K FT ASL
Posts: 2,459
Rep Power: 925
simonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond reputesimonsays has a reputation beyond repute
728 likes received
462 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from singapore. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcalleyboy View Post
Thanks for the heads up.... so there's also soft ware to copy my MAC address or mimic my MAC saved items? My only issue is the in-laws I live somewhat remote but they're relentless in their pursuits of stealing what doesn't belong to them and then making a business out of it, they work harder at stealing, I mentioned to my wife that wouldn't it be easier for them to work for a living, she told me ... they won't do that.

Well this is a huge learning lesson for me and I'll start checking on my options, also have to figure out how to change my network? This is another new thing, any help.
MAC spoofing can be done, but they need to grab your mac address.. i.e your phone/laptop mac address

I guess you are being too paranoid

Just change and then hide the SSID and with MAC filter, you should be good

if your in-laws were military grade hackers, I am sure they will not be hanging on to you .. I believe they just go lucky or somebody gave them the password (out of sympathy ?? )
M.C.A. likes this.

__________________
... ..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 06:38 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Banos Laguna
Posts: 2,973
Rep Power: 308
M.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond repute
2290 likes received
7369 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from usa. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default Password given out

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecureilx View Post
MAC spoofing can be done, but they need to grab your mac address.. i.e your phone/laptop mac address

I guess you are being too paranoid

Just change and then hide the SSID and with MAC filter, you should be good

if your in-laws were military grade hackers, I am sure they will not be hanging on to you .. I believe they just go lucky or somebody gave them the password (out of sympathy ?? )
Will look that up ecureilx thank you. I think your right this is not an old router its brand new, manufactured this year and I didn't have any issue's till my daughter came to visit and next thin I know the Wireless Network Watcher started showing that someone had compromised my WiFi.

The in-law in question is the son of my wife's sister, he kept bugging my son for the password and he also asked me, I know that my son wouldn't give it out, he's 10 years old and I've never showed him the password location, I warned him (I knew or could feel something was going on) and two days later my son mentioned to me that John-john, that's his name (hacker) kept asking him for the password, so you could be right, one of my kids may have given it out.

__________________


I am not a regulated immigration adviser. I am offering an opinion and not advice. Check here for professional help with the Philippine Bureau of Immigration PBI https://www.facebook.com/officialbureauofimmigration or Philippine Retirement Authority PRA for an SRRV Visa https://pra.gov.ph/contact/ Always stay alert and don't let your guard down.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Subic Freeport Zone
Posts: 1,065
Rep Power: 231
jon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond repute
1250 likes received
431 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from usa. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default

I think that you will be alright. Just change the name of your router and then hide the SSID Broadcast.

How about something like "NBI Cybersecurity" ?? That way if someone was able to sniff out your network, it might deter them from going any further

__________________
Life is great!!

http://www.lifeinsubic.com/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 11:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Philippines
Posts: 606
Rep Power: 190
DonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond reputeDonAndAbby has a reputation beyond repute
526 likes received
353 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from usa. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon1 View Post
I think that you will be alright. Just change the name of your router and then hide the SSID Broadcast.

How about something like "NBI Cybersecurity" ?? That way if someone was able to sniff out your network, it might deter them from going any further
Ha ha, I like that name! I had NotForYou but I think I need something more intimidating like that!
Asian Spirit and M.C.A. like this.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 12:10 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Banos Laguna
Posts: 2,973
Rep Power: 308
M.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond repute
2290 likes received
7369 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from usa. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default Rename my router

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon1 View Post
I think that you will be alright. Just change the name of your router and then hide the SSID Broadcast.

How about something like "NBI Cybersecurity" ?? That way if someone was able to sniff out your network, it might deter them from going any further
Wish I'd thought of that name, well I think, actually I was able to accomplish this last task, dang.... it took a while, nothing on the web even comes close on how to change my unit's SSID, so I went with another old faithful media spot a female Internet and computer specialist I used to listen to on the AM radio called Kim Komando and actually her advice is basic and to the point and gets me to where I need to be.

My SSID number or name is unchangeable there's no option like some of the YouTube video's to change PLDTHOMEDSL, the older units had an option but the new one, no way it's not even an option they have an add on blank to the right of that area where you add to the name, so that's what I did and as soon as I hit the save button my son was kicked off the internet. All I had to do was input the same code that came with the WiFi unit and he was logged in again.

Hope that sounds right? I had to log in again to my wife's cell phone also.

On a lighter note the in-law is down on the corner trying to hack neighbors PLDT WiFi, my son seen him lurching down there next to their house.... Did I mention my in-laws are relentless or unrelenting, nothing phases them they move on and get what they want, going to help my neighbor on the corner update his WiFi unit....LOL, next area with a WiFi is the pig and duck farm, smells to high heaven, it's so bad sometimes I choke walking by, I'll let him grab his dose of WiFi in that area. Nothing's to good for the in-laws.
jon1 likes this.

__________________


I am not a regulated immigration adviser. I am offering an opinion and not advice. Check here for professional help with the Philippine Bureau of Immigration PBI https://www.facebook.com/officialbureauofimmigration or Philippine Retirement Authority PRA for an SRRV Visa https://pra.gov.ph/contact/ Always stay alert and don't let your guard down.

Last edited by M.C.A.; 15th December 2014 at 12:17 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Subic Freeport Zone
Posts: 1,065
Rep Power: 231
jon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond reputejon1 has a reputation beyond repute
1250 likes received
431 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from usa. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default

So you cant change the original ID, is there a way to hook it to your personal router via ethernet? And turn off the wifi on the PLDT device (like Hondaguy suggested)? Then the changing the name of your personal router would work.

To change the SSID = the same as the name of your router.


Then you would be in 100% control.
M.C.A. likes this.

__________________
Life is great!!

http://www.lifeinsubic.com/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 15th December 2014, 02:27 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Banos Laguna
Posts: 2,973
Rep Power: 308
M.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond reputeM.C.A. has a reputation beyond repute
2290 likes received
7369 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from usa. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default PLDT device is an all in one unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon1 View Post
So you cant change the original ID, is there a way to hook it to your personal router via ethernet? And turn off the wifi on the PLDT device (like Hondaguy suggested)? Then the changing the name of your personal router would work.

To change the SSID = the same as the name of your router.


Then you would be in 100% control.
Not sure I understand but my PLDT device is a 3-1 unit, everything is as one. Going to read on more and study my options, if trouble persists, I thinks over now.... I'll buy my own router.

The in-laws that are bugging me currently are only next door temporarily, the sister in-law (hackers mother) is suppose to marry a German man this month I thought but so far he hasn't shown up, funny thing is she still lives with her Tom Boys, poor German will show up and think that these other girls are best friends.

__________________


I am not a regulated immigration adviser. I am offering an opinion and not advice. Check here for professional help with the Philippine Bureau of Immigration PBI https://www.facebook.com/officialbureauofimmigration or Philippine Retirement Authority PRA for an SRRV Visa https://pra.gov.ph/contact/ Always stay alert and don't let your guard down.

Last edited by M.C.A.; 15th December 2014 at 02:30 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 19th December 2014, 06:33 AM
Manitoba's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Mandaluyong City
Posts: 971
Rep Power: 167
Manitoba has much to be proud ofManitoba has much to be proud ofManitoba has much to be proud ofManitoba has much to be proud ofManitoba has much to be proud ofManitoba has much to be proud ofManitoba has much to be proud ofManitoba has much to be proud of
983 likes received
176 likes given

Users Flag! Originally from canada. Users Flag! Expat in philippines.
Default

Easiest way to add MAC addresses for filtering is to first turn off the filtering.

Then connect the device, you will at the least see the MAC address so can add it or at best be able to add it directly.

Then turn MAC address filtering back on.

I have always done this for all my routers ever since I discovered the filtering.
simonsays and M.C.A. like this.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Tags
wifi, wifi hacked, wifi signal

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Expat From Country
Please select the country you originate from. This will appear as a flag when you make posts on the site.
Expat To Country
Please select the country you have either moved to or want to relocate to. This will be presented on the site when you make posts.

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Wifi anne g France Expat Forum for Expats Living in France 6 13th August 2014 07:07 AM
Wifi/television Michelincamper Spain Expat Forum for Expats Living in Spain 1 9th January 2013 11:56 PM
WIFI in Benidorm? snorkeler Spain Expat Forum for Expats Living in Spain 3 14th December 2012 11:04 AM
Hacked Hotmail accounts Alcalaina Spain Expat Forum for Expats Living in Spain 3 2nd July 2011 07:10 PM
WiFi in Javea mick1052 Spain Expat Forum for Expats Living in Spain 3 28th January 2011 09:25 AM

FORUM PARTNERS

ExpatForum.com is owned and operated by VerticalScope Inc.

Retiring Overseas Guides | Moving Overseas Guides | Cost of Living | Health Care Guides


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.