Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

UK tax on US Dividends

1K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  JustLurking 
#1 ·
Hello,

I am a US citizen/ resident, considering moving to the UK for a job. I have, and will continue to have, substantial dividends from US Exchange traded funds every year. I plan to leave there funds in the US if I take this role in the UK.

My question is: Will I have to pay UK dividend tax on my US investment income?

The UK maximum rate is 38.1%, while the US maximum rate is 20%, so this could be substantial.

I've always read that the US taxes worldwide income, but the UK does not. However, several sources seem to indicate that for non-domiciled residents, the UK does, in fact, tax worldwide dividend income.

Any sources that are current would be helpful.

Thanks.

#2 ·
Tax if you’re non-domiciled
You do not pay UK tax on your foreign income or gains if both:

* they’re less than £2,000 in the tax year
* you do not bring them into the UK, for example you transfer them to a UK bank account

If this applies to you, you do not need to do anything.

Chapter 9 in HMRC’s guidance on ‘Residence, Domicile and the Remittance Basis’ explains the rules for bringing income or gains to the UK.
https://www.gov.uk/tax-foreign-income/non-domiciled-residents

On the other hand, I believe being taxed on the remittance basis means you’re not entitled to the Personal Allowance. The Guidance may clarify.

#3 ·
Thank you for the response. Since the amount is over 2000 pounds, I went down a rabbit hole of remittances in that source. It appears that to NOT pay UK taxes on this income, I would lose my tax free allowances (so pay taxes on an additional 12500 pounds).

Does that seem correct?

#5 · (Edited)
Yes. That’s the Personal Allowance, which you’re entitled to if you’re taxed on the arising basis (as most UK residents are).