Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

moving to Puglia

23K views 15 replies 14 participants last post by  JandL 
#1 ·
Having always loved and wanted to live in Italy, My husband and I are looking into the logistics of moving from Ireland to Puglia [when we sell our business/house here.... which may take a while :( ] but are finding alot of the information out there for non EU residents... so help with some questions please.
[we have a small monthly pension of €500 and an annual one of €5000 and we would be able to buy a home for cash when we sell ours here [hopefully €200000] we have simple needs and would want land to grow on with fruit etc. He is a bus driver and I am an artist/art tutor.]
1. what would be the minimum amount needed per month for a relatively simple life?
2. how is the cost of living compared to 3 years ago?
3. is it relatively easy to set up a business? Can one sell ones paintings/what licences are need etc?
4. Pitfalls to look out for?
Any tips/contacts would be gratefully received

#2 ·
Hello there

I'm living in Lecce at the moment. I visited Puglia in Summer 2008 and although this is just me thinking back off the top of my head I would say costs are pretty much the same. I am sure that prices have increased a bit but not noticeably significantly for everyday items or indeed anything else that springs to mind.