Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Resume format for UAE

41K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  SBP 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I am new to this site but have read the threads few times before and find it a very helpful site.
I have been working as Area manager in retail for last 10 years. My husband is likely to get a company transfer to UAE. I have been posting my resume for retail jobs. I didnt get any response from any job websites. However, a recruiter did contact me just to inform me that my resume is not according to UAE required format.
Can someone please let us know is there is any differnce between Western and Middle Eastern resume format.

Besides, is there any one related to retail industry, if so what is the best way of finding retail jobs. Insight please.

I will really appreciate your help.

#3 ·
I have worked in both "big box" stores and apparel chains. My company closed many stores because of economic slow down and finally I got a Thank you letter from my company for my services :) Businesses have still not picked up. How is it over there? I do see many malls and stores opening in different UAE states.

Would you know if there are any particular recruiters for retail industry and any special resume requirement.

THNX

#4 ·
Most companies require a photograph at the top, other than that, I'm not aware of any major differences.

Unless it's at management level, you might struggle to find work in retail as businesses will tend to hire Indians or Filipinos over westerners because they're far cheaper and will put up with more abuse.

#5 ·
I thought that was what you ment, but just wanted to be sure. Gavtek nailed what I was thinking. You would not be able to live on a retail salary 'comfortable' the way you are accustomed to.